Cheesecake Brownies.

Awoke at 2am to the smashing of rain on the metal awning outside my window. Normally this sound is peaceful, pure and beautiful but the aggressive pounding of rain removed all serenity, especially since it was sleeping time. I could not sleep for two hours, I just lay there listening to the torrent run down the alley of my house. I soon came to piece with the rain, you can not fight so I just enjoyed it.

Image

6am came with another down pour so I thought I would start my day.

Image

My day was full of errands with wet feet. Fortunately I managed to cheer myself up with the taste testing at the Bondi Junction Organic Food Markets and a lamb and harissa sausage roll at the Central Baking depot. The Central Baking Depot is amazing, it is, or bakes from Bourke Street Bakery cookbook so stopping for only a coffee and a snack was the ultimate self control. The chalkboard temps you with beef brisket or poached chicken sandwiches, the oven plate with sausage rolls and quiches then the pastries… fruit danishes, carrot walnut cake, tahini cinnamon scrolls, devils chocolate cake, poppyseed scrolls, raspberry brownies…

Image

Inspired I went back to the organic markets and bought ingredients to make pork and fennel sausage rolls and to satisfy my love of chocolate and cream. I was going to make cheesecake brownies too.

Image

It was a good idea in hindsight but battling with an umbrella, puddles, rain, newly purchased kettle and arm loads of shopping made the walk home a challenge. Fortunately the end result was worth it.

Image

There is nothing like sitting down with a steaming hot fennel tea, warm homemade brownie and a couple of episodes of mad men. You may ask about what happened to making pork and sausage rolls… I will tomorrow, I was way too excited to make these brownies. Naughty me.

Image

I definitely would recommend this brownie when you want something a little out of character, still indulgent but a lot of awesome.

Image

Enjoy as I did (and will for the next few days)..For the brown85 grams butter, cut into cube

For the chocolate brownie:

115 grams quality milk chocolate
130 grams sugar
2 eggs, at room temperature **
70 grams plain flour
1 heaped tablespoon quality cocoa powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
80 grams chocolate chips

For cheesecake swirl:

200g cream cheese, at room temperature
1 egg yolk
75 grams sugar
1/8 teaspoon of vanilla

Method:

1. Line 9 inch pan (or 8″ for thicker brownie) with foil and cover ALL sides. Grease lightly with spray or butter
2. Preheat oven to 180C
3. In medium mixing bowl, melt butter and chocolate together until butter has melted (I used bain-marie method because I was using a metal bowl but microwave would work too)
4. Once smooth remove from heat and beat in sugar (130g), then add the eggs
5. Mix in flour, cocoa, salt and vanilla then add the chocolate chips.

6. Spead evening in prepared pan
7. For cheesecake, in a clean bowl beat together the cream cheese, yolk and sugar (75g) then add vanilla and mix until smooth
8. Dollop cheese mixture across the top of the brownie mixture. Then with a dull knife swirl in the white and brown.
9. Bake in oven for 30 – 40 minutes until the centre of the pan feels just set.

Cool in pan, then lift out foil and cut into perfect little squares. 

Image

Storage: keep in an airtight container OR freeze

I love freezing some, some for now and some for another rainy day.. 

Thankyou david Lebovitz


** Having the eggs at room temperature means they are less viscous than cold redrigerated eggs. This makes them easier to beat into batters more easily. This can affect the height and texture of your cake. Although when asking to seperate eggs, using cold refridgerated eggs is best

Image

Central Baking Depot:

http://www.au.timeout.com/sydney/restaurants/venues/5748/central-baking-depot-bondi-junction

For original recipe:

http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2008/10/cheesecake-brownies/

 

One thought on “Cheesecake Brownies.

Leave a Reply

