Everyone should wear red lipstick now and then

To me I was unfortunately born with thin lips that almost disappeared from sight when I laughed. The idea of wearing red or drawing attraction to my lips was never contemplated and so I never tried it.

My beautiful colleague who seems to never have a bad hair or makeup day came into work looking fantastic. I always notice hair and makeup, a daily regimen that makes everyone feel better. I noted her taupe liquid eyeliner, matte skin but was m instantly became envious of her popping red lips. It made me think about how after 20-something years the only red lipstick I had ever worn was a shade of summery plum that I recieved free in tester pack. Not colour was vulgur and was not matched to my skin tones yet it was instances like these that ruled coloured lips out from my whole life. I had ruled red lips to those of Marilyn Munroe, Anne Hathaway, Freja Beha, …

A change of heart, I went into Mecca and was recommended a shade of red. Upon application I was not convinced, too-red? too-blue? shiny? matte? The saleswoman was lovely and suggested I walk around the centre, have a coffee, catch my reflection and decide over the next hour whether the colour was for me. It wasn’t. My chattery mouth, licking lips, fidgity hands quickly smudge the glossy rouge. Glosses were not for me.

I continued to experiment with professional advice the different styles and hews of red; red-blues, red-oranges, matte, semi-shine, glossy until I found one that was me.

Now it is my failsafe. Any evening with a five-minute change time, an unfinished outfit and now even days of feeling down I put on my reds and feel better.

Now, leaving red lips on my coffee cup is one of my elegant guilty pleasures.

Be inspired and always remember: have clean moist lips, strong defined brows, soft subtle eyes and gentle cheeks and a soft mono skin tone.

xx

@Julien David. Paris2012.

For those still not convinced see; Rashida Jones, Kirsten Dunst, Leighten Meester

2 thoughts on “Everyone should wear red lipstick now and then

    • I am so glad to have found my red but do not be disheartened. It took me a while. Mine is an orange-red hew. Orange-red suit olive skin tones whilst red-blue hews suit more pale skin. Hope this helps you in your search!
      Goodluck!

Leave a Reply

